Thursday, July 25, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Madhya Pradesh
  4. Shivraj Singh Chouhan resigns from Madhya Pradesh Assembly days after Vidisha Lok Sabha seat victory

Shivraj Singh Chouhan resigns from Madhya Pradesh Assembly days after Vidisha Lok Sabha seat victory

Union Agriculture Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan resigns from the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly. Chouhan, who represented Budhni, assures continued dedication to his constituency.

Reported By : Anurag Amitabh Edited By : Vaidehi Jahagirdar
Updated on: June 18, 2024 11:25 IST
Shivraj Singh Chouhan
Image Source : PTI (FILE IMAGE) Union Agriculture Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who was recently sworn in as the Union Minister of Agriculture in the Modi 3.0 Cabinet, on Monday (June 17), resigned from his membership in the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly, where he represented the Budhni Assembly constituency.

After submitting his resignation from the assembly membership to the speaker, the newly appointed Union Agriculture Minister released a video message for his constituents in Budhni, where he assured them of his continued service to the best of his ability.

He said, "Today I am very emotional... I have tendered my resignation from the membership of the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly... I started my public life in Budhni itself... I won the assembly elections by a record margin and in the Lok Sabha elections, they made me win by a big margin. I have served the people of Budhni with my whole heart... My entire life is dedicated to this love of the public and I will continue to serve them to the best of my ability."

Meanwhile, it is pertinent to note that in the 2023 Madhya Pradesh assembly elections, BJP leader and former four-time Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan won from the Budhni constituency by a margin of more than 1.05 lakh votes. However, he now has to vacate the seat post the Lok Sabha Polls 2024, where he was elected with a mammoth margin of over eight lakh votes from the Vidisha Lok Sabha constituency, one of the highest in the country. 

Significantly, apart from Chouhan, the Vidisha Lok Sabha constituency has earlier in the past was represented by stalwarts like former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1991), media baron Ramnath Goenka (1971), and BJP leader late Sushma Swaraj (2009 and 2014).

READ MORE | Shivraj gets Agriculture, Khattar new Power Minister | Check what former CMs got in Modi Cabinet 3.0

READ MORE | Jyotiraditya Scindia, Shivraj Chouhan among five ministers from Madhya Pradesh in Modi Cabinet 3.0



Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Madhya Pradesh