1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election
  4. Gujarat Assembly election results: BJP wins Unjha by 69,896 vote margin

Gujarat Assembly election results: BJP wins Unjha by 69,896 vote margin

Gujarat Assembly Election 2022: BJP Asha Patel, who won the seat in 2017 and 2019 died last year. However her absence did not affect the results of Unjha constituency.

Raju Kumar Edited By: Raju Kumar @rajudelhi123 Unjha Updated on: December 08, 2022 18:53 IST
There is a direct fight between Congress and BJP in Unjha.
Image Source : INDIA TV There is a direct fight between Congress and BJP in Unjha.

Gujarat Assembly Election 2022: Unjha is one of the 182 Gujarat Legislative Assembly constituencies. It is located in Mahesana district. Unjha assembly seat was represented by BJP MLA Asha Patel. Patel died due to dengue at a private hospital in Ahmedabad in December 2021. Counting of votes today.

BJP candidate Kiritbhai Patel won Unjha by 51,468 vote margin.

Traditionally, the Unjha assembly constituency is a stronghold of Congress. The grand old party held the seat from 1995 to 2019. Asha Patel won Unjha seat on a Congress ticket in 2017 assembly election but later she joined BJP and won again in the bypoll. Patel was very popular in the region and she was also one of the prime faces of ‘2015 Patidar reservation agitation’. 

‘Asha Patel factor’ in 2022 election

Asha Patel is no more. The sympathy went to BJP. The saffron party sought votes on basis of works done by late Asha Patel.  

2017 Assembly Election

Asha Patel won the election on Congress ticket defeating BJP candidate. 

2019 by-poll

In 2019, she switched sides but her vote bank remained intact. Asha Patel got 77,459 votes against Congress candidate Patel Kantibhai Muljidas’s 54,387 votes.

History of Unjha Constituency:

             Year,          Name,         Party

  • 1962 Ambalal Mohanlal  Patel Congress
  • 1967 PS Mohanlal  Swatantra Party
  • 1972 Shankerlal Mohanlal GuruIndian  Congress
  • 1975 Kantilal Manilal Patel  Independent
  • 1980 Kanjibhai Lalludas Patel  Janata Party
  • 1985-90 Chimanbhai Patel  Janata Party
  • 1995-2012 Narayanbhai Patel Bharatiya Janata Party
  • 2017 Asha Patel  Congress 
  • 2019 Asha Patel Bharatiya Janata Party (Bypoll)

Unjha Taluka, Vadnagar Taluka (Part) Villages – Jaska, Sundhiya, Hajipur, Shekhpur (Khe), Badarpur, Molipur, Sulipur, Kesimpa, Jagapura, Bajpura, Babipura, Khatoda, Kamalpur, Malekpur, Chandpur, Shekhpur (Vad), Kahipur, Chhabaliya, Transvad, Vadnagar (M) fall in Unjha constituency.

The constituency has total 213,263 electorates.  and it falls in Mahesana Lok Sabha constituency which is represented by BJP MP Shardaben Patel.
Candidates for assembly election 2022:

  • AAP- Urvish Patel
  • BJP- Kiritbhai Patel 
  • Congress- Patel Arvind Amratlal

Voting for Legislative Assembly election was held on 1 and 5 December 2022 in two phases, to elect 182 members of 15th Assembly. The counting of votes took place on December 8, 2022.

Click here for latest update on Gujarat election

Read all the Breaking News Live on indiatvnews.com and Get Latest English News & Updates from Election