Monday, July 22, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Election
  4. Jayanagar Elections 2023: After high drama and recount BJP's CK Ramamurthy wins by 16 votes

Jayanagar Elections 2023: After high drama and recount BJP's CK Ramamurthy wins by 16 votes

The fight is between Congress MLA Sowmya Reddy from the Jayanagar assembly constituency with the BJP's C K Ramamurthy.

Written By: Arushi Jaiswal Bengaluru Updated on: May 14, 2023 10:16 IST
Jayanagar Elections, Karnataka
Image Source : INDIA TV Jayanagar Elections 2023: Tough fight between BJP, Congress in this constituency

Jayanagar Elections 2023: After high drama and multiple rounds of recounting of postal ballots, BJP candidate CK Ramamurthy was declared winner in Jayanagar constituency by a narrow margin of 16 votes. According to the EC website, Congress's Sowmya Reddy got 57,781 votes and C K Ramamurthy secured 57,797 votes.

Jayanagar assembly constituency is located in the Bengaluru Urban district of Karnataka state. It is a part of the Bangalore South Lok Sabha constituency. It is a general category assembly seat. Strong leaders including former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda were voters of this constituency. 

This constituency was one of the first planned neighbourhoods in Bangalore. It is home to several tree-lined streets, parks and elite residential areas. The area has both residential and commercial establishments, with areas of Jayanagar and JP Nagar especially comprising eateries, restaurants, bars and shopping complexes.  The constituency also houses the Green Line of the Namma Metro and will also have the proposed Yellow Line connecting Electronic City. 

Also Read: Karnataka Assembly Elections 2023

Major issues

The administration encroached around 100 street vendors from their vending space to build the Jayanagar shopping complex, which is under renovation for over four years. Other issues are poor traffic management and parking problems, haphazard commercialisation, neglecting zoning regulations, mushrooming of pubs and bars, better health and education infrastructure. 

Candidates in fray

Congress had fielded MLA Sowmya Reddy from the Jayanagar assembly constituency while the BJP had given a ticket to C K Ramamurthy. Meanwhile, from JDS Kale Gowda contested for this seat. 

2018 Assembly elections

In 2018, Congress candidate Sowmya Reddy won this seat by defeating BJP candidate B N Prahlad with a margin of 2,889 votes. She is the daughter of a political veteran, former Home Minister and current BTM layout MLA Ramalinga Reddy.



Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Election