Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election
  4. Bankipore election result: BJP's Nitin Nabin gets fourth consecutive term, defeats Luv Sinha

Bankipore election result: BJP's Nitin Nabin gets fourth consecutive term, defeats Luv Sinha

Bankipore Assembly Election Result 2020: BJP's three-time MLA Nitin Nabin has retained the seat. He defeated Congress candidate Luv Sinha.

India TV News Desk Written by: India TV News Desk Patna Updated on: November 10, 2020 22:00 IST
Bankipore election result
Image Source : INDIA TV

Bankipore election result: Two young faces up against BJP's three-time MLA

BJP's three-time MLA Nitin Nabin from Bankipore Assembly seat retained the seat for fourth consecutive term. He defeated Congress' Luv Sinha by a margin of nearly 29,000 votes. He was facing a stiff challenge from two young debutants -- Congress' Luv Sinha anf Plurals party leader Pushpam Priya.

BJP's Nitin Nabin won from Bankipore seat in 2006 by-elections and retained the seat in 2010 and 2015. The seat was earlier represented by his father Navin Kishore Sinha. The three-time MLA is known for his social works in Bankipore.


Nitin, who also served as the BJYM's national general secretary, was also facing a tough fight from Sushma Sahu, former chief of BJP's Bihar Mahila Morcha. Sushma entered the fray as an independent candidate. She was actively involved in political activities of the BJP and was expecting a ticket. Sushma was expected to make a significant dent into the vote bank of the sitting BJP MLA, but failed. Besides Sushma, two debutants have the contest in Bankipore as one of the most keenly observed. They were Luv Sinha and Pushpam Priya Choudhary.

Bankipore Election Result

9 pm: Sitting BJP MLA Nitin Nabin wins

5:30 pm: BJP's three-time MLA Nitin Nabin is all set to retain the seat for a fourth consecutive term. He is leading by a margin of over 16,000 against his nearest rival Luv Sinha of Congress. Plurals Party chief Pushpam Priya has secured only 1877 votes so far.

1:30 pm: BJP's three-time MLA Nitin Nabin leads by over 6,000 votes. Plurals Party chief Pushpam Priya gets 502 votes. Congress' Luv Sinha has secures over 2,000 votes so far.

11 am: Congress leader Luv Sinha trails BJP's Nitin Nabin by 1,200 votes in Bankipur seat. Plurals Party chief Pushpam Priya Choudhary bags only 121 of 3,860 votes counted so far.

9 am: BJP's sitting MLA Nitin leads over Pushpam Priya and Luv Sinha in Bankipore 

Luv Sinha is the son of actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha. The grand old party was banking heavily on Sinha's popularity to change its fortunes. The Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat had twice elected Shatrughan in 2009 and 2014 but as a BJP member. Luv was actively involved in his father's campaign for the 2019 Lok Sabha election, but Sinha unsuccessfully contested from here against BJP's Ravi Shankar Prasad.

Pushpam Priya Choudhary, a new entrant in Bihar's politics, is an alumnus of the London School of  Economics. She launched her party -- Plurals in March with a promise of "total transformation". Pushpam Priya was also the chief ministerial candidate of her party. Her party fielded candidates in a few other constituencies as well. Pushpam Priya is the daughter of JD(U) leader Vinod Chaudhary from Darbhanga.