Live tv
  1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election
  4. Bihar Bypoll Results: As it happened

Bihar Bypoll Results: As it happened

The RJD today retained Araria Lok Sabha seat with its candidate Sarfaraz Alam defeating nearest rival Pradip Kumar Singh of BJP by over 43,000 votes. The party also won Jehanabad Assembly bypoll.

India TV News Desk Written by: India TV News Desk Patna Updated on: March 14, 2018 21:57 IST
Picture for representational purpose.
Picture for representational purpose.

The RJD today retained Araria Lok Sabha seat with its candidate Sarfaraz Alam defeating nearest rival Pradip Kumar Singh of BJP by over 43,000 votes. 

The party also won Jehanabad assembly bypoll. Kumar Krishna Mohan Yadav, who was pitted against ruling Janata Dal-United’s Abhiram Sharma from here, bagged 76,577 votes. Sharma managed to get 41,206 votes.

Both, Araria Lok Sabha seat and Jehanabad Assembly seat were held by RJD. 

In Bhabua, Rinki Rani Pandey of BJP won, defeating Congress candidate Shambu Patel.

While Araria recorded 57 per cent voter turnout, Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies recorded 54.03 per cent and 50.06 per cent voting in March 11 elections. 


6 pm: A Grand Alliance is the demand of time, it is the demand of the people. Keep your ego away: Tejashwi Yadav

# Bihar has given sympathy vote this time. I'd like to thank all those who've supported us. We welcome the mandate of people. We will certainly win the elections of 2019 under the leadership of PM Modi & BJP President Amit Shah: Nityanand Rai, BJP Bihar President

# BJP should stop working for its face value & instead put in efforts to work for the people. That's the only way in which they can improve or else they will face the same result in the 2019 elections as they have in this bypoll: Jitan Ram Manjhi

4 pm: Sarfaraz Alam of RJD wins in Araria Lok Sabha seat 

3:50 pm: Araria Lok Sabha by-poll: BJP’s Pradip Singh: 2,45,691 votes | RJD’s Sarfaraz Alam: 3,45,638 | NOTA: 10,800

3:35 pm: Bhabua Assembly by-poll: Rinki Rani Pandey of BJP wins. 

3:24 pm: RJD's Kumar Krishna Mohan wins in Jehanabad assembly seat. He defeated JD(U)'s Abhiram Sharma by 35,371 votes (RJD: 76,577 | JD(U): 41,206)

# RJD supremo Misa Bharti says trends have announced end of Nitish Kumar's politics

3:13 pm: Bhabua Assembly by-poll: After 21 rounds of counting, Rinki Rani Pandey of BJP has bagged 58,701 votes whereas Shambhu Singh Patel of the Congress is at second place with 14,093 votes.

02:59 pm: "Congratulations to @laluprasadrjd Ji for winning #Araria and Jehanabad. This is a great victory," tweets Mamata Banerjee

01:01 pm: RJD ahead in Araria Lok Sabha seat and Jehanabad Assembly seat; BJP in Bhabua.

12:21 pm: Early trends show that Bharatiya Janata Party is ahead of Rashtriya Janata Dal in Bihar's Araria.

11:55 am: Bihar bypoll trends | BJP leading in Bhabua after eight round of counting with 19,738 votes. RJD leading in Jehanabad after tenth round of counting with 29,551 votes.

11:11 am: Kumar Krishna Mohan Yadav leads in Bihar's Jehanabad.

10:50 am: BJP leading by 2714 votes in Bhabua, RJD leading in Jehanabad.

10:43 am: Araria Lok Sabha bypoll early trends: BJP leading with 58,225 votes, RJD second with 55,334.

10:15 am: Araria Lok Sabha bypoll early trends: BJP candidate ahead by 1200 votes.

09:55 am: BJP's Rinky Rani Pandey ahead in Bhabua.

09:40 am: Rashtriya Janata Dal leads in Araria, Jehanabad.

09:25 am: After first round of counting BJP is leading in Kaimur and Rashtriya Janata Dal is leading in Jehanabad: ANI

08:35 am: Araria Lok Sabha bypoll early trends: Rashtriya Janata Dal candidate ahead in Araria.

08:00 am: Counting of votes for Araria, Bhabua and Jehanabad seats begins.

07:50 am: The bye-elections were the first electoral test for Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar who walked out of the Grand Alliance last year and joined hands with the BJP to form the government.

07:46 am: The BJP is hopeful of retaining the Bhabua Assembly seat riding on a sympathy wave for Anand Bhushan Pandey whose death at the age of 48 necessitated the bypoll. The saffron party fielded Pandey's wife Rinky Rani. 

07:45 am: The bypoll in Araria Lok Sabha seat was necessitated after the death of RJD MP Mohammad Taslimuddin. 

07:37 am: The death of RJD MLA Mundrika Singh Yadav necessitated the bypoll for Jehanabad seat, and his son Uday Yadav is contesting for the seat. Another key candidate in the fray is Janata Dal United's Abhiram Sharma.

07:30 am: The Jehanabad Assembly seat was vacant after the death of RJD legislator Mundrika Yadav. 

Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Election