1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election News
  4. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 News
  5. BJP insulting 130 cr voters by raising questions on opposition's choice of Prime Ministerial candidate: Mayawati

BJP insulting 130 cr voters by raising questions on opposition's choice of Prime Ministerial candidate: Mayawati

Mayawati's remarks came hours ahead of Modi's road show in Varanasi.

Lucknow Published on: April 25, 2019 11:49 IST
Representative News Image
Image Source : PTI

Mayawati slams BJP for raising questions on the opposition's choice of PM candidate

BSP chief Mayawati on Thursday slammed the BJP for repeatedly raising questions on the opposition's choice of Prime Ministerial candidate and said the saffron party is insulting 130 crore people of the country.

"Why is BJP & co. repeatedly insulting masses by claiming that the opposition lack leadership for the post of Prime Minister?

"'Who after Nehru' was the arrogant question asked earlier too. But people gave a befitting reply to all this nonsense and will surely give another one shortly," the Bahujan Samaj Party supremo tweeted.

She lamented the fact that Modi "is moving freely without care despite facing numerous serious allegations of Model Code of Conduct violation, thanks to the Election Commission.

"That's why he has started crossing the limit so far (even where) respect for women is concerned. Haven't BJP/RSS imposed a lajawab neta upon the country," she said.

Mayawati's remarks came hours ahead of Modi's road show in Varanasi.

The BSP, which scored a nil in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls has been contesting the 2019 general elections in alliance with the Samajwadi Party and the Rashtriya Lok Dal.

The BSP is contesting on 38, the SP on 37 and the RLD on three seats out of 80 seats in the state.

The SP-BSP-RLD alliance have left the two seats of Rae Bareli and Amethi for Congress in the state.

Of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, 26 have voted so far in the first three phases of polling, while the other 54 constituencies will go to the polls in the remaining four phases.

Get the latest Lok Sabha election 2019 news on https://indiatvnews.com/elections.. Follow Live Election Results on May 23 with India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma using #ResultsWithRajatSharma and #ElectionsWithIndiaTV. You can also watch India TV's Live TV.

India TV Election Day Counting
Lok Sabha Election 2019