1. You Are At:
  2. English News
  3. Election
  4. Lok
  5. Chhattisgarh: Lok Sabha elections in three phases, check details here

Chhattisgarh: Lok Sabha elections in three phases, check details here

The Lok Sabha elections in Chhattisgarh will be held in three phases as announced by the Election Commission of India on Sunday.

New Delhi Updated on: March 13, 2019 17:47 IST
Map of Chhattisgarh

Map of Chhattisgarh

Voting for Chhattisgarh's 11 parliamentary constituencies will take place across the first three phases of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections, the Election Commission announced on Sunday.

The first phase of voting will take place in the Maoist-affected Bastar parliamentary constituency on April 11 while other three Maoist-affected parliamentary constituencies - Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund and Kanker - would go to polls in the second phase on April 18.

Surguja, Rajgarh, Janjgir-Champa, Korba, Bilaspur, Durg and Raipur will vote in the third phase on April 23.

The politics in the state is majorly dominated by the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress. A BJP stronghold in last one and half decades, it had, however, seen the Congress turn the tables in the November 2018 Assembly elections to storm back to power.

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the BJP won 10 seats with 49.7 per cent vote share while the Congress could only manage to win a single seat and got 39.1 per cent votes.

First 11 April Bastar
Second 18 April Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, Kanker
Third 23 April Surguja, Raigarh, Janjgir- Champa, Korba, Bilaspur, Durg, Raipur

Also read: Lok Sabha Elections 2019 complete schedule: Check polling date in your constituency

Write a comment