Friday, July 12, 2024
  1. You Are At:
  2. News
  3. Chhattisgarh
  4. Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: BJP nears to sweep with leading in 10 seats

Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: BJP nears to sweep with leading in 10 seats

Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: The trend of vote counting showed that the BJP was set to sweep Chhattisgarh with winning 10 seats out of 11.

Edited By: Raju Kumar @rajudelhi123 Raipur Updated on: June 04, 2024 12:44 IST
Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha elections
Image Source : PTI FILE Union Home Minister Amit Shah with Chhattisgarh CM Vishnu Deo Sai at BJP rally

Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha Election Results 2024The Election Commission of India's website showed that the Bharatiya Janata Party is leading on 10 Lok Sabha seats out of 11 Constituencies in Chhattisgarh. It means, the saffron party is set to improve its tally from 9 to 10. Congress leader Jyotsna Mahant from Korba Constituency is the only party nominee who is leading. Even, senior Congress leader and former Chhattisgarh chief minister Bhupesh Baghel is trailing from Rajnandgaon seat.

The BJP bagged 10 out of the 11 seats in three general elections from 2004 to 2014 and won nine seats in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, while the Congress got two seats.

Meanwhile, a total of 220 candidates contested the Chhattisgarh Lok Sabha elections 2024. Raipur had the maximum number of 38 candidates, followed by 37 in Bilaspur, 27 in Korba, 25 in Durg, 18 in Janjgir-Champa, 17 in Mahasamund, 15 in Rajnandgaon, 13 in Raigarh, 11 in Bastar, 10 in Surguja and 9 in Kanker. Polling in the 11 Lok Sabha seats of the state was held in three phases - on April 19, April 26 and May 7.

Key candidates in Chhattisgarh

In the high-profile Raipur seat, the contest was between BJP's incumbent minister Brijmohan Agrawal and Congress' Vikas Upadhyay, a former MLA. In another key seat Rajnandgaon, BJP's sitting MP Santosh Pandey was pitted against Congress MLA and former chief minister Bhupesh Baghel. In Korba seat, BJP fielded former MP Saroj Pandey against Congress' sitting parliamentarian Jyotsana Mahant, wife of incumbent leader of opposition Charandas Mahant. In Durg, the Congress chose Rajendra Sahu, a fresh face, against sitting BJP MP Vijay Baghel. In Bastar, Congress' firebrand leader Kawasi Lakhma was pitted against BJP's Mahesh Kashyap, a fresh face. The ruling BJP this time dropped its sitting MPs in Mahasamund and Kanker seats and fielded former MLAs Rupkumari Chaudhary and Bhojraj Nag there, respectively. The Congress fielded former state home minister Tamradhwaj Sahu in Mahasamund and Biresh Thakur in Kanker.

Also read: Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: BJP to make clean sweep, shows trend, leads in Chhindwara


Read all the Breaking News Live on and Get Latest English News & Updates from Chhattisgarh