1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Congress revamp: Ramya given charge of...

Congress revamp: Ramya given charge of social media team, Kharge to return to Karnataka

Kannada actor and former MP Ramya has been made the head of the Congress' social media team.
India TV Politics Desk New Delhi May 11, 2017 23:33 IST
India TV Politics Desk

Amid a slow revamp in the Congress as party vice-president Rahul Gandhi seeks to bring in more young leaders to his core team, Kannada actor and former MP Ramya has been made the head of the Congress' social media team. 

“Ramya has taken charge as the head of the party’s social media team,” a party source was quoted as saying by IANS.

She takes over from Haryana’s Rohtak MP Deepender Hooda, who handled the social media team since 2012.

Ramya, 34, had joined the Congress in 2012. She served as Member of Parliament from Mandya. Ramya lost contested the Mandya Lok Sabha seat in Karnataka in 2014, lost to CS Puttaraju of Janata Dal (S).

In 2016, Ramya had stirred controversy after she in a tweet said: “Pakistan is a good country, not hell. Parrikar’s comments (that going to Pakistan or hell is the same thing) are not true.” 

Rahul Gandhi has made many changes in the top team of the Congress party over last week. Avinash Pande, AICC secretary and former Rajya Sabha MP, has been appointed general secretary to manage the party in Rajasthan, to be assisted by four secretaries in Vivek Bansal, Qazi Nizamuddin, Devendra Yadav and Tarun Kumar.

The party also named new state chiefs in Punjab and Uttarakhand, with Sunil Jakhar replacing chief minister Amarinder Singh in Chandigarh and Pritam Singh taking over from Kishore Upadhyay in Dehradun. Noted lawyer Vivek Tankha has been appointed the chairman of AICC's legal and human rights cell.

There are also reports that Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Mallikarjun Kharge may return to Karnataka politics to play an active role before Assembly elections next year. 

Guna MP Jyotiraditya Scindia may be appointed party's leader in the lower house of the Parliament.