IndiaTV RSS Feeds
November 23, 2014

UPA short of 27 MPs for majority in Lok Sabha

IANS [ Updated 21 Nov 2012, 21:02:13 ]
UPA short of 27 MPs for majority in Lok Sabha

New Delhi, Nov 21: With the threat of a no confidence motion looming over parliament's winter session starting Thursday, the ruling UPA's strength stands at 245, less than the majority mark.

The total strength of Lok Sabha is 544, making the majority mark 272.

The United Progressive Alliance (UPA) lost 11 seats after Trinamool Congress pulled out two months ago over the decision to allow foreign direct investment (FDI) in multi-brand retail. This made the government dependent on parties extending support from the outside.

The UPA, with its main allies, now has 245 members. To reach the halfway mark, it needs 27 more.

Extending outside support, Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) together have 47 seats, which adds up to 292, a majority. Other parties extending outside support to the government have nine seats, taking the number further up to 301.

The two largest non-government and non-opposition parties, SP and BSP, have 22 and 21 seats respectively.

However, SP has predicted early general elections and announced a list of candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, putting its stand in doubt.

The BSP is also against FDI in retail. It is unclear if either of the two will vote for or against the government.

Opposition National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has 150 seats, Trinamool Congress has 19 and Left parties have 24 seats.

However, neither the BJP nor the Left have made their stand clear.

Among other major parties not with the government are Biju Janata Dal with 14 seats, AIADMK with nine seats and Telugu Desam Party with six seats.

Here is the list of seats of parties in UPA and those supporting it from outside.

Parties constituent of the UPA:

Congress: 206
NCP: Nine
DMK: 18
National Conference: Three
Indian Union Muslim League: Two
Rashtriya Lok Dal: Five
Kerala Congress: One
VCK: One

Seat strength of parties offering outside support to UPA:

SP: 22
BSP: 21
RJD: Four
Janata Dal-Secular: Three
Nagaland People's Front: One
Bodoland People's Front: One
Swabhimani Paksha: One
Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi: One
All India United Democratic Front: One
Sikkim Democratic Front: One

Seat strength of parties in opposition National Democratic Alliance (NDA):

Bharatiya Janata Party: 115
Janata Dal-United: 20
Shiv Sena: 11
SAD: Four

Seats of Left parties:

Communist Party of India-Marxist: 16
Communist Party of India: Four
All India Forward Block: Two
Revolutionary Socialist Party: Two

Seats of others parties:

Trinamool Congress: 19
Biju Janata-Dal: 14
Telugu Desam Party: Six
Jharkhand Vikas Morcha: Two
Telangana Rashtra Samity: Two
YSR Congress Party: Two
Asom Gana Parishad: One
Haryana Janhit Congress: One
Sikkim Democratic Front: One
Independents: Nine

(Figures taken from the Lok Sabha website)

At A Glance
Top 10 quotes of Narendra Modi from his speech at Kishtwar, J&K
Kishtwar: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday address an election  more
PDP may emerge as single largest party in J&K, BJP short of majority in Jharkhand: India TV-C Voter poll
New Delhi: Mehbooba Mufti-led People's Democratic Party  more
B'day Special: 10 facts to know about Mulayam Singh Yadav
Mulayam Singh Yadav, former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and  more
'Love Jihad' boomerangs on BJP, No 'Modi magic' in state polls
New Delhi:  By-poll results for three Lok  more
Rahul Gandhi in a new 'angry young man' avtar
New Delhi: Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi has always been taunted  more
Delhi deadlock: Is fresh elections the only option left?
New Delhi: The Supreme Court of India has asked Delhi’s  more
Know Your Leader
B'day spl: Know Mulayam Singh's compulsions behind supporting UPA govt
New Delhi, Sep 27: Mulayam Singh Yadav  more
Know criminal-turned-politician BSP MP Dhananjay Singh
New Delhi: The Bahujan Samaj Party MP from Jaunpur, Uttar  more
Who is Sadhu Yadav?
New Delhi: Sadhu Yadav – this is one name that  more
Politics Archive
Omar Abdullah govt used flood disaster as an oppo..

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today launched a scathing...

India TV C-Voter opinion poll Jammu Kashmir elect..

Mehbooba Mufti-led People's Democratic Party is...

Lok Sabha has no plans to shift timing of Question Hour: Sumitra Mahajan
New Delhi: New Delhi: Lok Sabha has no plans to shift the timing of the Question...